Meet the Governing Body

The Academy Governing Body (AGB) of Gatley Primary School has three core functions and is responsible for:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • to support and challenge the systems within the school to ensure the performance of the school remains at its highest level;
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

 To ensure effective governance, the following have been put in place:

  • the appointment of individuals with the necessary skills, and diversity of perspectives;
  • an effective chair and an explicit governor code of conduct;
  • clear governance structures with tightly defined remits;
  • clear separation, but a positive relationship, between the role of the board and its school leaders;
  • the support and advice of an independent and professional clerk;
  • robust processes for finance, business planning and compliance;
  • processes for regular self-evaluation, review and improvement.

Our AGB is chaired by Mike Chow, who can be contacted by email at:

The Education Learning Trust Board meet six times per academic year and also has committees which meet termly. The Trust Board receives regular updates from each academy in the Education Learning Trust. Please click on the following link for our governance structure.

Academy Governing Body 2018/19

Mike Chow - Co-opted Governor, Academy Chair of Governors

Rebecca Keeping - Parent Governor

John Mackenzie - Co-opted Governor

Vanessa McManus - Staff Governor

Rebecca Catton - Staff Governor

Hannah Sinclair - Parent Governor

Tuyet Dickens - Co-opted Governor

Lois Morgan - Co-opted Governor

David Balmer - Co-opted Governor

Mike Merchant - Co-opted Governor


Governors no longer in office:

Claire Coleman 2 year term of office from 01.09.17 to 31.08.19 - appointed by staff election

James Clark from 04.07.17 to 16.01.20

Alexander Drury from 01.09.17 to 16.01.20

Tanya Aspinall from 13.03.19 to 


Academy Governing Body Meetings - Attendance for 2018/19 Academic Year

Committee Membership

Resources Committee

  • Alexander Drury - Chair
  • Mike Chow
  • John Mackenzie
  • Tuyet Dickens
  • Lois Morgan

Teaching and Learning Committee

  • Hannah Sinclair - Chair
  • Rebecca Keeping
  • Tanya Aspinall
  • James Clark
  • Rebecca Catton

Performance Management Group

  • Alexander Drury - Chair
  • Hannah Sinclair

Pay Committee

  • John McKenzie
  • Michael Chow - Chair

Governor School Designations

  • James Clark - Safeguarding Governor
  • Alexander Drury - Best Value Governor (Pupil/Sports Premium)
  • Michael Chow - Teaching School Governor
  • Hannah Sinclair - Curriculum Governor
  • Rebecca Keeping - Inclusion Governor

The Chair of Governors can be contacted by post:

FAO: Mike Chow

C/O Gatley Primary School

Hawthorn Road

Governor Policies

© Copyright 2018–2020 Gatley Primary School