Meet the Governing Body

The Academy Governing Body (AGB) of Gatley Primary School has three core functions and is responsible for:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • to support and challenge the systems within the school to ensure the performance of the school remains at its highest level
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

 To ensure effective governance, the following have been put in place:

  • the appointment of individuals with the necessary skills, and diversity of perspectives
  • an effective chair and an explicit governor code of conduct
  • clear governance structures with tightly defined remits
  • clear separation, but a positive relationship, between the role of the board and its school leaders
  • the support and advice of an independent and professional clerk
  • robust processes for finance, business planning and compliance
  • processes for regular self-evaluation, review and improvement

Our AGB is chaired by Lisa Dennis, who can be contacted by email at:

The Governing Board meets three times per academic year.

The dates for this academic year are:

Wednesday 06 October 2021 at 5.30pm

Wednesday 23 March 2022 at 5.30pm

Wednesday 20 July at 5.30pm

The Trust Board receives regular updates from each academy in the Education Learning Trust. Please click on the following link for our governance structure.

Academy Governing Body 2020/21

Tanya Aspinall - Co-opted Governor

David Balmer - Co-opted Governor

Toby Butt - Staff Governor

Lisa Dennis - Co-opted Governor, Academy Chair of Governors

Tuyet Dickens - Co-opted Governor and Vice Chair of Governors

Mhawash Farooq - Co-opted Governor

Mike Merchant - Co-opted Governor

Gemma Norman - Headteacher

Governor School Designations

Curriculum: Mike Merchant

Safeguarding: Tuyet Dickens

Best Value and Investment including Pupil Premium: David Balmer

Health and Safety: Tanya Aspinall 

Governors no longer in office:

Rebecca Catton 01.09.19 to 31.08.21 Appointed by GB/Board

Rebecca Keeping 01.09.17 to 31.08.21 Appointed by Parents

John Mackenzie 01.09.17 to 31.08.21 Appointed by GB/Board

Hannah Sinclair 01.09.17 to 31.08.21 Appointed by Parents

Vanessa McManus 01.09.17 to 31.12.21 Headteacher - ex officio

The Chair of Governors can be contacted by post:

FAO: Lisa Dennis

C/O Gatley Primary School

Hawthorn Road

Governor Policies

© Copyright 2018–2022 Gatley Primary School

Education Learning Trust. Registered address: Hawthorn Road, Gatley, Cheadle, Cheshire, SK8 4NB. A charitable company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales (company number: 09142319)

School & College Websites by Schudio